Honey & Mumford Learning Style Questionnaire

Honey & Mumford designed a questionnaire to define what kind of learning style you are. This is to help you think about the different ways you learn and to potentially find a way to improve your learning.

The 4 different learning styles within the question are reflector, theorist, activist and pragmatist. Reflectors are people who look back at previous experiences and try to evaluate what happened. They also tend to not take the leadership role, so they prefer to take a backseat in team activities. Theorist’s learners tend to want to understand the information behind the actions. They also think through problems step by step in a logical manner with facts and concepts.  Activists are the type of person to take action rather than talking or reading about problems. They like to get hands on experience with things and also tend to have an open mind about new information they are given. Pragmatists tend to want to know how to use what they have learnt in real life situations. They cant full grasp subject concepts unless they can practically use them.

I took this questionnaire to discover that my learning style is a mixture of all four styles. I scored 8 for Reflector, 7 for Theorist, 8 for activist and 7 for Pragmatist. One of the key steps to taking this questionnaire is to develop the ability to learn in the other styles too, so it looks like I may be a step ahead of some people. I however am nowhere near understanding everything there is to know about all these different styles of learning. I can see how I fit into all of the different styles. For example in certain group activities I will take a more of a backseat role if I think that someone else has more knowledge or experience on the subject. When learning new skills I tend to think to myself how can I use this information in the real world and how it can improve my life.

So overall I think the honey & Mumfords’s questionnaire is useful to improve your learning experience, making a good attempt at pin point areas that you may need to focus on a bit more. However saying this I found the questionnaire to be somewhat vague. Some of the questions where to generalised for me to answer it in a way I would have liked to. I feel that it is quite good for simply just being quantitative data, however I felt like some question could of done with some more information. For example one of the questions “ I often get irritated by people who want to rush into things”. There are a lot of factors that could change my answer to this question such as what are they rushing into or who is the person. Yes it does say “often” but this is too generalised for my liking. To conclude the questionnaire could do with some improvements but is a great stepping stone for understanding how people learn

Leave a Reply

